When I bought my house two years ago I knew that the dining room needed a mirror.  I also knew that I wanted it to be a piece of artwork, and a functional mirror.  I shopped and shopped and everything I fell in love with was way out of my price range.  I chanced Craigslist and ended up finding a treasure!

And by treasure, I mean a huge GOLD treasure.  This mirror had beautiful lines and was the perfect size, but gold would not work in my silver accented house!  With some painters tape, some primer, and an Extra White sample paint can from Sherwin Williams, I now have this masterpiece!

Isn’t she beautiful?  Because the lines are ultra feminine, I used a light grey (knitting needles by Sherwin Williams) behind it to lessen the contrast.  One thing to always remember in design is that our eyes are always drawn to contrast.  If I put this bright white mirror against the dark charcoal walls, it would cause the rest of the room to disappear.

The total cost of the project was just under $120.  I also got to have tea with a lovely 86 year old woman who told me beautiful stories of all the homes this mirror has lived in.  Love it!

This is the view of my dining room when I purchased the house:

And this is it now!

